Talk

Advanced search

Moving to Llandaf

(8 Posts)
Littleredbeetle Wed 09-May-18 11:55:44

Hi, I'm new to Mumsnet and just looking for any local info/tips on Llandaff, as we are considering a move there.

Me, DH and daughter of (currently) 9 months old are looking to relocate from Surrey to Cardiff. I'm originally from South Wales and still have family and friends in the Pontyclun area. DH has a new job offer for Bristol (London some days) and I work from home so now thinking of moving back to where most of our mutual friends are. Thought I would post on here to see if anyone has any insight, as although I'm from South Wales we have never spent much time in Cardiff suburbs.

We think Llandaff might be a good option but are keen to hear from people who have experience of living there - what are the nicest areas to live in/streets to avoid? Any high crime areas? Is it mainly older, more affluent people who live there or lots of young families too? We are both mid 30s professionals and would love to know if the area would suit our needs as much as we hope it will. Attracted to the greenery/coffee shop vibe and ease of access to Taff Trail/city. Plus access to the m4 for DH. But is the traffic in the area a growing issue?

Also wonder about toddler groups for meeting fellow parents in the area? Am used to being able to walk to a children's centre so really hope there is something similar around there. I'm also used to being able to walk to local shops/pub and green spaces.

Schools look good, would want my DD to go to welsh medium so presume Glantaf...

We are in the very early stages of looking at moving so wouldn't be till the end of the year. Right now would just love to hear about what it's like to live there and if we have the wrong/right impression! We have only been there a handful of times and looked round Insole Court.

(Budget is about 400k for a family home with green space ideally.)