Talk

Advanced search

Lawrence Sheriff or princethorpe

(2 Posts)
BeeOak Wed 28-Mar-18 15:52:00

Hello!
I'm new to the Rugby area. We moved here due to grammar schools, access to motorway for work etc.
Child got a place in Lawrence Sheriff grammar (LSS) and also got a place at Princethorpe college (PC) on a combo of scholarship and bursary such that what's left is 'affordable'. We are not rich (yet! smile) but would sacrifice within our means, as many parents would do, if it means we would get that 'extra'
We don't know much about the two school other than what we've researched online and seen on open days.
Does anyone know about the two schools? How do they compare? I know that grammar schools are hot on academics and we want that. we are also considering any added value a private school could bring, PC in particular??
We are really confused cos we know about LSS's performance but don't want to be throwing a great opportunity away if we didn't go PC??
Money is not the issue here, like I said not rich yet but we just want to know if there's any value in going private over grammar. Our child is quite academic and intelligent (bless him) and likes a challenge.
Any help if you know about the school will be appreciated.

doglover102 Sun 15-Jul-18 14:55:44

Hi!
I've got two kids, one who went to Princethorpe and one who goes to Sheriff.
It all depends on your kid and what he needs from a school. If he has any SEN needs at all this needs to be carefully considered. Princethorpe as a private school gets away with pushing those kids to the sides and refusing to do anything. DS was there for 3 years, the first year was fine, the second was worse, and the third left him (And us!) in a bad place. So you need to think about that. I'm not sure how LS is with SEN kids, sorry!

Princethorpe Pros
- Teachers/ staff are often supportive and know how to get the best out of your kid