Talk

Advanced search

Moving up North

(9 Posts)
Fhour Tue 14-Nov-17 05:47:47

DH and I are moving back to the UK after a few years working abroad. We're priced out of the South and don't want to rent. We've got 4 kids and the schools are so oversubscribed from each of our local areas it's all become quite a headache. Hence the decision to go for it and move up North.

It's something I've been banging on about for a few years now but DH has had no interest in until lately where he's (thankfully) come to the conclusion that there must be an alternative to the life we currently lead where he is a total slave for the corporate company he works for whilst I'm on my own at home with the kids all the bloody time.

So. He's found a few jobs which he will apply for; Leeds, York and Cumbria so far. I understand these are all totally different places - and I'll be posting on the other respective boards for info - but can anyone here shed a bit of light on life with kids in Leeds? Areas to live? Areas to avoid? We'll have about £350k to spend on a house hopefully.

Many, many thanks for any advice. I have absolutely no idea where to start with this! :-/

StrongerThanIThought76 Tue 14-Nov-17 19:39:44

Leeds and York are fantastic cities. Both have something for everyone, really accessible. I live between both and can travel into either city within 30 minutes by car or train. Lots to do with kids in both cities - museums, days out, interesting sights and lots of history. Lots of retail in both, in the city and retail parks on the fringes.

I have family in Cumbria (South Lakes) and whilst it is beautiful there are really no big cities in the whole area, public transport can be rubbish, roads can be mostly single carriageway and clogged with traffic, making everything seem So Far Apart. The M6 gives quick access to Manchester.

Cumbria is simply the wrong side of the Pennines! Come to Yorkshire!

alphajuliet123 Wed 15-Nov-17 11:19:32