Talk

Advanced search

Westbourne primary school

(11 Posts)
Taks Sun 06-Aug-17 02:30:19

Hi,

I am very new to mumsnet and need some urgent advice. My family are looking to relocate from Merton to Sutton. I have come across a couple of properties I that I like on Collingwood road / Oldfields road. Having researched / driven around the area it appears to be friendly neighbourhood. Does anyone have any first hand experience of this location?

Also we are looking to purchase a property soon however as I am very new to the area I am slightly confused about the schools. My son will be starting primary school soon. The closest school to the property we like is Westbourne primary . Does anyone have experience of this school? I have come across reviews which both criticise the school for being overly academic and others which suggest that the school doesn't focus hugely on studies e.g. The homes work is only 5% of that given in other schools? though the results of the school are impressive.

As one of the main reasons for my relocation are the good state school and then the grammar schools offered in Sutton I would be very grateful for any recommendations anyone could make about this school or any others in Sutton. I am open to most areas as long as it's a safe / family friendly neighbourhood, not overly pricey and close to a good state school. I would be grateful for any assistance anyone could provide.

Thank you in advance.
Regards
Taks

gazzalw Sun 06-Aug-17 10:42:58

Do you really need to move - lots of children from Merton go to Sutton schools including the grammars (one of mine being amongst them)?

Taks Sun 06-Aug-17 16:00:21

Thanks gazzalw. Unfortunately the primary school closest to where We currently live (and most probably where my son will be placed) has been underperforming for sometime. So we are just trying to be proactive and have decided that moving to Sutton would be the best option.

Any help with schools would be much appreciated.