Talk

Advanced search

Joseph Hood school

(14 Posts)
daisymeg Sun 18-Jun-17 20:01:19

Hi I would be grateful for thoughts on Joseph Hood from current parents. It's the school we will most likely get for my son (year 2) as closest one with places. I toured it last year but it wasn't an official tour and I was shown around by an admin lady who was very nice / helpful, but not able to really give me a feel for the leadership / ethos of the school. I have read the OFSTED report but would be really grateful to hear from parents how they have found the school in practice. Thanks!

LocalEditorMerton Mon 19-Jun-17 10:43:57

Hi daisymeg

Hopefully some other Merton Mumsnetters will be along to give you their insights very soon. In the meantime, here is a related zombie thread that you might find illuminating (caveat - it's nearly two years old).

I have no direct experience of the school but would say that it doesn't seem to have the same popularity/status amongst Wimbledon mums as many of the SW19 primaries do (same as with All Saints and Garfield). Not sure why though.

Good luck!

Kate

Poppetmonkey Tue 27-Jun-17 12:02:19

My daughter is in year 1 at JH and my son has started the nursery. It's a lovely school, where all the staff know all of the children. My daughter joined the school in reception with us having recently moved into the area and she has made some lovely friends. There are lots of activities throughout the school year both school based and PTA based,

The school fair is on saturday between 12-3 why don't you pop along?

Also go and view the school again

Vaniakeely Tue 27-Jun-17 12:07:16

I have 2 children at Joseph Hood that have been there 2 years now. They love the school. I was a little unsure when they started as the school wasnt my first choice but im so glad they go there now. Its a lovely school. Everyone is really friendly and welcoming.

Peterthewomble Tue 27-Jun-17 12:15:59