Talk

Advanced search

Single Parent House Share - Manchester

(9 Posts)
AlrightMum Sun 17-Apr-11 22:54:20

I'm a 28 year old single parent to a 5 year old boy looking to move to a better area. I realise that the concept of a single parent house share is not without complications, but it would enable both parties to be able to afford a quality property in a good area and take turns with childcare and house work. Also, as my son is currently an only child, I hope that this arrangement would give him some much-needed playmates and hopefully a garden to play with them in (by the same token, both grown-ups get a bit of company and someone to enjoy a glass of wine with in the evenings!)
I feel trapped in the area we're in; I earn enough to prevent me from being entitled to any benefits but not enough to rent a good house in a decent part of town. I am looking to move to Chorlton / Old Trafford / Firswood or possible Didsbury. My son is bright, sociable, loving and friendly. Is there anyone out there who is interested in this arrangement? Right now it feels like a lifeline, if only the right person is out there. I work in communications from home but could rent an office in the city centre to avoid my work encroaching on the house and vice versa. Please get in touch if this interests you so we can meet for a chat...

fenner Thu 21-Apr-11 11:24:42

Good luck with this, AM. Sounds like a great idea. smile

Thomwyke Wed 27-Apr-11 00:46:39

Hi, my name is Thom and 27 year old. I am currently living in Middlesbrough but looking to move back to Manchester in the summer after I finnish college. My son is 14 months old and i guess for his age he is really good. I have been looking for a house/flat for myself but unfortunately can't afford the rent on my own for a propererty in a reasonable place. And obviously, a normal house share is out of the question. I share custody with my ex partner so i won't have him full time.

I was hoping to start University this year, doing a degree in child nursing but unfortunately i have had to put it off for a year. I work as a care worker with children and vulnerable adults.

I am extremely easy to get on with and friendly. I travel to Manchester every weekend to pick up my son so if you would like to meet up and have a coffee, i would really appreciate it.

Hope to hear back from you

Thom

amee250 Sat 14-May-11 17:01:31

Hi, I may be interested in ur situation. As I was looking for a housemate a while back. I am 31 with a 1yr old little girl who is happiest baby ever! I am due to start uni in sept and looking for a place easy to travel to manchester uni but is safe for me and my baby.
If u want to get in touch my email is kirsty.amee@yahoo.co.uk

nicola4710 Thu 27-Jun-13 11:56:10

I know this post was a while back - but is anyone still looking to house share - I am 30 with my 6 (nearly 7) year old daughter. Thanks
Nicola x

fierynortherner Fri 28-Jun-13 10:17:38

Hi Nicola, why don't you start off a new conversation, then people will know its a new post. I think its a fantastic idea, good luck.
Im in a similar situation, but with 4 children.
Hope you find someone soon.

monicarhm Wed 14-Aug-13 15:02:32

Hi Nicola, have you had any success recently??
I am 22, with a nealry 6 year old daughter. I am entering into my last year of studies, with the plan as of next summer to move down to England to do teacher training. Manchester could be a possibility.
Just wondering if you had found someone, or if it was working out for you>? Because it would be the same thing I would like to do next year!!
smile

kafflass Mon 20-Aug-18 11:59:15

HI
I am 28 with 2 children a little boy aged 5 and a daughter aged 6. I am a single parent and I love the idea of this. I am looking to move to Chorlton but currently live in Hulme. If you would like to meet up let me know. Thanks. smile

user1493391728 Sat 29-Sep-18 21:11:30

Hi
I'm 31and my son is nearly 2 currently live in Manchester city centre but would like move to Chorlton/Didsbury/Trafford.

I've contemplated getting an au pair but think sharing with another single parent could be a better arrangement

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, watch threads, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now »

Already registered? Log in with: