Talk

Advanced search

moving to Luxembourg (feedback required on house, school, job)

(11 Posts)
NayDS Thu 02-Mar-17 22:12:30

Hello all,
We are in process of moving to LUX from London in couple of months’ time, DP has recently received a job offer from EU. Wondering if I could some feedback on following points:
- This would be our first time in LUX and we are going there in April to get a feel for housing and other stuff. Sooner rather than later we would like to buy a house and hence don’t want to sign a long rental lease. Any idea what is the typical lease for a flat in LUX and whether it has any breakage clause e.g. in UK it is typical to have 1 year lease but with 6 months breakage on two months’ advance notice? I have picked up somewhere that landlords there prefer to sign long term, multiyear, leases there.
-I work in IT and have strong experience with blue chips in UK but I don’t know any French or German. How easy or difficult would be to find a job for me there? I’m already extremely nervous about this.
-DS, who’s in Reception, will be joining European School there. As both DH and I’ll be working full time like in UK, does it matter from logistics perspective if DS goes to ESL1, Kirchberg (?) or ESL2, Mamer? In terms of quality of education and infrastructure which one is better ?

Many thanks in advance

Gfplux Tue 07-Mar-17 19:25:10

For property rental and buying look at atHome.lu.lu
Many rental contracts are for three years but I am sure you could find one for less.

Weta Thu 09-Mar-17 15:15:33

Typical lease is 3 years minimum but we managed to negotiate 2 years, you could try to negotiate less if you wanted to (we tried initially but the agency spoke to us like we were aliens).