Talk

Advanced search

English DD struggling. WWYD?

(5 Posts)
Newyearnewbrain Fri 16-Dec-16 15:11:13

I feel like I'm probably worrying unnecessarily but am looking to canvass some opinions on this. I wish I could see five years down the line and make the right choice.

DD6 started réception and grade one in a bilingual school (French:English). We have now moved from French speaking country but put her into the French school in our new country (Asia). The problem is this new school is much much tougher than the last one with a more typically French approach to education. DD is doing ok-ish but struggling with her reading and writing.

To be fair, she's only been there a month or two. Do I let her carry on and try and support her in the hope she'll pick it up better or try for the bilingual stream, which was full when we enrolled her?

I just want to get it right.

Abricot1993 Sat 17-Dec-16 11:42:46

Hi

I work as an education consultant for expats in the german speaking part of Switzerland and the French and German border areas.
Experts say the most important thing is to keep up the primary language as this then supports the second language. It is great that your child has the opportunity to learn a second language so early.
Later on the French education system is tough and very traditional chalk and talk so you may want to have the future ability to move into an english system which you can do if you have kept up the primary language.

Newyearnewbrain Sat 17-Dec-16 12:35:11

That's unbelievably helpful. Thanks. I guess total immersion will cement it in her head and she seems up to speed in the primary language as she has a few hours per week in English for native speakers.

In your experience will she just find it easier as she goes along? I'm guessing the confusion over syllable sounds will gradually change.

We were in Geneva before. Very different school. Love Switzerland!

Abricot1993 Sat 17-Dec-16 14:19:16