Talk

Advanced search

Brits in France - applying for dual citizenship

(15 Posts)
EmGee Sun 03-Jul-16 21:00:31

Any advice?

Have got the ball rolling by getting a place on the next available TCF sessions (in the autumn). This shouldn't be a problem as I studied French at uni and was a French teacher before coming to France; DH learnt French when he came here years ago as an adult and speaks fluently albeit with a strong English accent. But going to revise for it anyway!

Kids (born here) so even though they are little (under six) are pretty good in French.

DH is the breadwinner; I'm a SAHM mum but hopefully getting back into some paid work in the autumn giving English lessons via a local 'association'.

I have read some things about the importance of integration. Can anyone expand on that?? I volunteer at the village maternelle and help out at school events (kermesses etc) and we have both French/non-French friends. I also go to church but am not actively involved in anything there. Kids do (french) activities - sport etc. DH has a busy job (French company) so doesn't do much at weekends other than gardening.

Is this enough? What else can I do to be more integrated?! To those who have gone through the process, what sort of things are they looking at?

MyFriendsCallMeOh Mon 04-Jul-16 03:00:04

How long have you lived in France? Think you need 5 years residency to apply.....

wallywobbles Mon 04-Jul-16 04:49:57

Currently doing it after 20 years. You will need certificates de nationalité francaise for your kids potentially. Look into that early on. They require much the same papers - your and your parents birth certificates etc proof of their address, certificates de scolarité etc.

Lots of the papers need to be less than 3 months old which can be tricky too.

It's a huge amount of paperwork. Good luck.

Download the list and make sure you go through it with a fine tooth comb.

frenchfancy Mon 04-Jul-16 10:33:20