Talk

Advanced search

Getting a part-time job

(6 Posts)
iliketeaalot Mon 09-Feb-15 14:12:18

I moved to Brussels in July with dh and ds following my dh's promotion with work. Ds is now 15 months old. I've been having a lovely time getting to know the area, going to playgroups and meeting new people.
Dh's company organised language lessons for me and I've just sorted out a childminder for that session (took ages to find anything I was happy with!). Now I'm thinking about maybe getting a part-time job. I was a language teacher back in UK so think it shouldn't be too hard to find something where I can teach English to adults. My dilemma is this: if I got a job, would I be making life a whole lot more complicated? We moved here because of dh's job so currently all childcare obviously falls to me. I don't have a car (could get one if needs be) so am reliant on public transport. My childminder has already informed me of her holiday plans so I need three weeks in summer to look after him. And all relatives are back in UK so as much as they would love to help out, they can't.
But I am starting to miss having my own job, and think I should probably do something so I don't have a massive gap in my cv. But my ds is only this young once. I don't need to work financially. WWYD?

chloeb2002 Tue 10-Feb-15 03:18:02

I think it's a very personal choice. I have worked either 3 or 4 days a weeks since dc#1 now we have 4. Over the years I have always believed that I need my job, my income, my independence. However I'm less sure that was right now. I have to provide some income to pay off some loans for nice stuff we bought. That's fine. I work casually. So I can fit around school etc. I do look back and think I have missed out on lots.

I guess many people don't feel
That have missed out tho!

fatowl Tue 10-Feb-15 05:21:26

I'm in Asia, but a very similiar background. We moved 10 years ago for dh's work, when the dc were little. We were financially secure and I was SAHM.

I had a teaching background, but had been out of it since I had DC1. I did some volunteer work, but did feel the need to do something.

I did the CELTA course last year when youngest DC went to secondary, and now work two days a week at a small private school, teaching ESL and some English Lit (I get to choose the books, which is fab!- currently doing Harry Potter with my 12 year olds- it's slow going as their english isn't great but we're having fun with it!)
I get the equivalent of about £18 an hour, which isn't bad, and it's a nice low -pressure job, small classes and generally nice kids (mostly local)

I pick up odd bits of private tuition as well, I charge equivalent of £25 an hour for that.

I'm never going to retire on this money, but I enjoy having money I earned myself again (not that we don't have all joint accounts, but you know what I mean)

rootypig Tue 10-Feb-15 05:28:58

if you're starting to miss your job, go back now. Easier to start and then give up, especially if you don't need the money, than wait and start after a long time. And lots of your questions will only be answered by seeing how the arrangement works, in practice, for you and your son.

iliketeaalot Tue 10-Feb-15 19:35:14

Thanks everyone. I agree, I don't think I'm really going to know unless I try it, and you're right, if I hate it, feel I'm missing ds too much or it's all too logistically ridiculous, then at least I'll know.

Twiceforkedlightningtree Wed 11-Feb-15 18:05:02

One thing you might need to be aware of is that in Belgium you won't get any automatic annual leave entitlement forthe first year of any new job. they can only manage to give you that a year in arrears. Seriously (I wasn't impressed!). Some places might give you unpaid leave, but I don't think they are required to. So if you know you have to cover 3 weeks in the summer you will need to plan with your dh.

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, watch threads, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now »

Already registered? Log in with: