Talk

Advanced search

Moving to Melbourne

(10 Posts)
Emslifechoices Wed 26-Nov-14 13:43:16

Hi all,

Can anyone offer any advice? My DH has been offered a role with his current company in Melbourne, Australia (for 18 months - 2 years). We've both wanted to move overseas and go on an adventure for a while but the timing is a bit rubbish at the moment. We're in the process of TTC and selling our flat in London and buying a new place outside London.

I'm a lawyer and don't like my job so have applied for (and got) a job in a local firm near to the new house (better hours etc). I really like the house we have had an offer accepted on and am excited about leaving London, getting a puppy and giving this new job a go (even though I know that this isn't my dream job as it's still in the law). Lots of people may say that we're settling down but I think I'm ok with that!

So, for these reasons I'm temped to say I don't want to go BUT I really don't want to turn round in 2 years and regret that decision / wish we'd gone. I know we could carry on TTC whilst there but I'd lose maternity benefits (even though they're not great!). Plus I would want to be near our families when we do have a baby.

I do love Australia and definitely want to travel more there. I'm also worried about career options, I am pretty sure that I'd only be able to work in a big international firm and I really don't want to do that. BUT as I don't love law and am thinking about a career change perhaps going away might give me the push I need to find what else I want to do. If we do go I think it would be more sensible not the buy the house as things may have changed in two years. Although we could buy and rent it out (to cover the mortgage).

Any help/comments/tips appreciated!

snowman1 Wed 26-Nov-14 19:49:57