Talk

Advanced search

Moving to Oz - Sydney or Perth

(9 Posts)
clpsmum Mon 25-Jul-11 10:49:23

We have decided to move to Australia and just can't decide where to go. We have narrowed it down to either Perth or Sydney but just can't make a decision no matter how much research/ visiting we do, so I thought I'd ask for your advice/suggestion/opinions. We are a family of 5 me and dh and 3 DC all under 5. My husband is an electrician and I am a nail technician but probably a sahm once in Australia. Thanks in advance for any advice

echt Tue 26-Jul-11 08:44:53

It depends on what you want. I understand there are more jobs in Perth, due to the mining, but it's small city in every sense of the word, whereas Sydney is world-class lots of cultural stuff, hell to drive round, expensive to live, but looks v.nice.

Bubbaluv Tue 26-Jul-11 10:52:34

Perth is the most isolated capital city in the world. You are either going to love that or hate it. Only you can know that.

redvelvetpoppy Wed 27-Jul-11 01:37:31

Hey there, after years of procrastinating (me) we have made the move to Sydney. DH lived here before & loves it. We arrived in May & even though it's "winter" here, no regrets! The only negatives I have found so far are: childcare - damn near impossible to arrange but that's ok if you want to be a SAHM and expense - OMG the expense of everything...it helps NOT think in pounds otherwise you will be brought to your knees weeping. We love Sydney but are already toying with a move to Melbourne in the future if/when we want to buy a house as it's unlikely we will ever afford to in Sydney...even if we sell house in UK.
DS is 3 & loving his new lifestyle though! We can walk to the beach/park/shops etc & train/boat ride everywhere else..x

AandK Wed 27-Jul-11 01:58:31

or maybe brisbane sorry to throw spanner in works but a family member lives there and its fab. Her childcare business is thriving too

ninedragons Wed 27-Jul-11 02:13:12