Talk

Advanced search

Emigrating (potentially) to Vancouver/Burnaby, BC. Lots of questions!

(7 Posts)
EightToSixer Wed 06-Jul-11 10:31:16

Hi everyone,

Wonder if any BC experts can help me with a few things.

Dh has been made redundant in the manufacturing design engineering industry in the UK and there appear to be a lot of jobs in a similar industry in Burnaby and Vancouver. I am currently doing a PhD, but could write up over there and there are potentially a couple of very good universities for teaching experience/potential future employment in BC for me. DD is nearly 9; DS is 5.

We are looking at the possibility of emigrating over to BC. What do I need to know? At present I know we have enough points to emigrate, but not whether to start the process and then look for work - or whether to get a job and hope that speeds up the process.

Also, schools - what are they like? what ages? Both kids love their current primary school - are they similar standard to decent UK primaries/HighSchools?

Housing? how expensive is it? what kind of places are best to live?

Sorry for all the questions - I've looked at other posts in this topic for ideas and answers too. Anything that you can add would be most useful - thank you smile

EightToSixer Fri 08-Jul-11 10:17:30

Hopeful bump smile

Highlander Fri 08-Jul-11 13:49:25

BC is gorgeous; Vancouver is super-expensive to live in.

However, Burnaby/ New Westmisnter are a bit cheaper.

Emigrating to nay country is a horribel, stressful process - I would get your DH to send off his CV first and then make a trip out there for meetings. It's much quicker to get the paperwork done with a job offer.

Canada is mad keen on employees having Canadian training - do your research and see if your qualifications are transferable. You may have to sit professional 'exit' exams.

UBC and Simon Fraser are, as you say, excellent universities - with a queue of people desperate to work there......

EightToSixer Fri 08-Jul-11 14:44:19