Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

How much "allowance"; do you get at month?

(71 Posts)
bellababe Sat 02-Jul-05 22:07:40

This one's for SAHM's: what's your monthly allowance? Please specify no. of children and area lived in. Also what has to come out of this amount.

Ladymuck Sat 02-Jul-05 22:08:56

Sorry, what "allowance"? Are you talking about a benefit of some sort?

mmmmchocolate Sat 02-Jul-05 22:10:08

I get £200 per month, i have 1 dd and live just outside london. This money is for us during the week to go swimming etc etc and small groceries ie milk and bread...

Ladymuck Sat 02-Jul-05 22:10:26

No sure if it answers you question, but all of our household income (dh's salary, child ben, anything I make) goes into one bank account, and everything comes out of that too.

snafu Sat 02-Jul-05 22:10:56

I have a selection of hard hats in a wide range of colours and sizes in case anyone's interested in joining this thread?

assumedname Sat 02-Jul-05 22:11:17

What on earth do you mean by allowance? I have full access to our joint account.

potty1 Sat 02-Jul-05 22:11:41

lol snafu

emily05 Sat 02-Jul-05 22:12:29

DH salary goes into our joint bank account, as does tax credits and family allowance. All our bill go out by Direct Debit and I manage our monthly budget, so allocate the rest.

Aero Sat 02-Jul-05 22:12:53

full access to all our money - well, after everything that we have to pay goes out that is!

mmmmchocolate Sat 02-Jul-05 22:13:28

i also have access to joint account but a debit going in to my account for fun things for me and DD.

Ladymuck Sat 02-Jul-05 22:13:40

Ah, I think I get it now.

DH has an allowance of £100 per month which is for him to spend on his hobby. He can do whatever he likes with the money. If he needs more he asks me first.

I spend everything else. I have 2 children and live on Surrey/S London border.

bellababe Sat 02-Jul-05 22:14:47

Yep, you're right, everyone's so different it was a stupid question. Kill the thread.

Aero Sat 02-Jul-05 22:14:49

pmsl snafu! I'll have a medium sized red one please!

potty1 Sat 02-Jul-05 22:15:43

A woman after my own heart Ladymuck - my dh gets 30 quid a week and I spend the rest

kama Sat 02-Jul-05 22:16:00

Message withdrawn

coldtea Sat 02-Jul-05 22:16:55

I get £900/month.

I do the monthly food shop with this, buy all cards/presents for friends & family. I also save money for the children & put money into a christmas fund each month What's left is mine, i guess it varies from £200-£300.

I heve 2 children & live in SE london.

coldtea Sat 02-Jul-05 22:18:05

takes me so long to type! Wish i hadn't answered that one now...

Gobbledigook Sat 02-Jul-05 22:26:31

Eh?

Whatever I need to spend. Money goes in big pot, money comes out of big pot - irrelevant who spends it.

It's 2005 btw.

misdee Sat 02-Jul-05 22:28:23

hahaha
SAHM and full time carer, my 'allowence' is around 2k.

lockets Sat 02-Jul-05 22:28:27

Message withdrawn

misdee Sat 02-Jul-05 22:28:56

sorry, 3 kids. in herts.

tarantula Sat 02-Jul-05 23:28:50

Dp is a SAHD and he gets between 70 and 90 a week (depending on the month) for everything including food (not bills tho). I get nothing except travel allowence and the stress of paying the bills and sorting out the finances.

tarantula Sat 02-Jul-05 23:29:28

thats with 1 kid and 1 stepkid (pt) in SW london

Fimbo Sat 02-Jul-05 23:38:38

Dh's salary goes into a joint account. Tax credit's into a separate account (which dh refuses to touch on the assumption that one day they will ask for it all back (long debacle re dh's tax on-going with IR)), child benefit goes into an account in my name which I save to pay for holidays etc. I am SAHM and spend what I like (within reason), have 2 children and live in Norfolk.

nooka Sat 02-Jul-05 23:44:07

I thought about posting something like this recently.
I give dh (SAHD) £790 a month, and we both pay all bills (inc food, anything for the children, and petrol) split down the middle. He pays for dd's nursery (currently £280 a month). This is equivalent to my half of what we paid the nanny before he was at home (includes the tax costs, so it's a bit more than she took home).

We used to have a joint account until he spent all of the mony, so now it's all very divided.

We live in SE London, and have a 6 year old and a four year old.

I would be interested in whether other SAHM/D's think this is reasonable.

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, watch threads, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now »

Already registered? Log in with: