Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Help-who will let me open an account??!!

(7 Posts)
monkeysmama Tue 01-Sep-09 10:00:13

I have recently registered a limited company so I can do some consultancy work. I went to HSBC last week to try and open a business account (I also want to open a joint account with dp) but half way through the form filling was told I couldn't open one because of a ccj against me (student loan non payment).

I don't know how much info anyone who knows about this kind of thing would need to give me advice but I need a business account and don't know what to do now?!!!

TIA

MM

madameDefarge Tue 01-Sep-09 13:50:43

:Monkeysmama, I don't know about the perils of having a personal ccj when opening a business account, but I was a sole trader as a consultant for about 7 years, and everything went through my personal accounts, so unless you need to be a limited company, ie, gettings loans etc and want to limit liability, I would just do that. You can call yourself what you like! If you want to keep it seperate from your personal finances, then maybe open a current account with anther bank.

I suppose what I am saying is you don't need a business account really.

madameDefarge Tue 01-Sep-09 13:52:37

but also, has the ccj been satisfied If it has, it should be marked, and depending on how long ago, should not be relevant anymore and you may be able to get it removed from your credit rating.

It might be worth trying to clean up your credit rating before applying for any more accounts, as a refusal shows up also.

itsmeolord Tue 01-Sep-09 13:59:06