Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

my sister's boss is telling her that she 'can't afford' to take 5 months mat. leave...and that there will be no part time job for her upon return.what can we do?

(14 Posts)
ThePudding Mon 12-Jan-09 14:24:54

they work for a very large retailer.
How do bosses still get away with this kind of thing?

what can I do to help my sister with this?

Lauriefairycake Mon 12-Jan-09 14:26:43

is she already part-time?

solidgoldsoddingjanuaryagain Mon 12-Jan-09 14:27:10

I am no expert on this but I think the boss is about to break the law. Is your sister a union member? If not, she should probably go to the CAB.
SMall companies (with fewer than 10 employees or something) are allowed a bit more leeway as it is harder for them to manage maternity leave/part time work etc - but a large retail chain is not exempt from the law.

PortAndLemon Mon 12-Jan-09 14:27:25

Give her the ACAS helpline number: 08457 47 47 47

edam Mon 12-Jan-09 14:29:49

boss cannot sack her, deny her her legal right to maternity leave, or treat her unfavourably because of her pregnancy. Have a look on the Equalities Commission website and ACAS. If boss does any of those things, your sister can go to an industrial tribunal and sue for sex discrimination.

As it's a big company, would be worth involving the HR dept. who should be much more clued up.

Tinker Mon 12-Jan-09 14:31:35

I blame it all on Rachida Dati. angry

ThePudding Mon 12-Jan-09 14:31:59

she is full time at the mo.

the same boss seemed to think part time would be ok last year.

she's not in a union. in fact due to all this she is considering leaving after mat. leave even though getting a job will be very hard this year.

ThePudding Mon 12-Jan-09 14:33:04

tinker did you read Liz Jones' in Mail on Sunday about that woman?!