Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Is it possible to get a credit card with no job but steady income?

(11 Posts)
KerryMum Sat 23-Aug-08 12:26:56

I get a regular income from benefits here in Ireland. I get carer's allowance which is rather generous here. I don't have a job. I currently use a credit card that is on my parent's account but in my name. It is an American bank. It has good credit on it and has always been paid on time.

Problem is getting money to them to pay the bill costs a fortune in exchange rates and bank fees. I really want to get a credit card that I can pay directly.

any ideas? thanks.

MummyDoIt Sat 23-Aug-08 12:55:00

It certainly was possible years ago. I got my first credit card when I was a student living on a grant (days before student loans). The limit was £50!! That was Barclaycard. No idea if it's still possible now.

fiodyl Sat 23-Aug-08 15:03:14

You may be able to get one of the higher rate cards like the Vanquis one or Barclaycard Initial.

They have a higher rate of interest because they are designed for people with low credit scores or no previous credit history.

KerryMum Sat 23-Aug-08 15:04:13

I'm in ireland would that make a difference do you think?

CheckAvailability Sat 23-Aug-08 15:44:56

i'm in ireland too, i have just got my 1st cc

I applied online to my own bank, they didnt ask for employment details just income details

fiodyl Sat 23-Aug-08 20:16:35

No idea if being in Ireland makes a difference, but Im sure you have Barclaycard over there don't you? The Vanquis card is done by the same company as Provident who do the loans- do you have them in Ireland?

IllegallyBrunette Sun 24-Aug-08 22:17:22

Yers ago I got 2 credit cards with only child benefit and tax credits as my income.