Disability/Severe Disability Premium UC

(17 Posts)
NoProblem123 Wed 09-Jun-21 16:16:20

I’ve just been told that my 18 year old child will only get the basic UC and possibly the premium for £74 per week, but not the severe disability premium because she doesn’t live independently- does this sound correct ?

Also that she probably won’t get the £20 increase.

She will never have meaningful work so will get about £344 every month. Obviously I would cancel child benefit and CTC which comes to £270 at the moment.

How are they meant to live on that ?

OP’s posts: |
Bagelsandbrie Wed 09-Jun-21 16:20:27

I am not an expert by any means but isn’t there esa to claim as well? I am on a dla and pip forum (my son gets dla, he’s 9 and I get PIP) and I see quite a few people suggest esa as well.

Saladd0dger Wed 09-Jun-21 16:26:40

Hi no that’s not right. My nice gets universal credit, new style esa & pip. Start handing in sick notes if you haven’t already to get the new style esa. Join Facebook group universal credit essentials a registered charity they are fantastic at advising

Mbear Wed 09-Jun-21 17:24:21

New style ESA is contributions based, so she would not be eligible for that.
Your daughter would get UC and if she is not well enough to work then she would need to get fit notes from the GP. From that she would have a work capability assessment and if she is found Low capability for work and work related activity (LCWRA) then there would be an extra amount paid to her each month. Please note if she is found just LCW there is no extra amount paid.
None of that is impacted by living alone or not.
There is a disability premium that was paid on the old style legacy benefits (not sure if it is payable on new UC claims at all) however you are correct, this has only ever been payable when there is no other adult in the house, so if she lives at home with you she would not get that.