Mortgage fixed rate ending - advice for an absolute dummy please!

(11 Posts)
LazyMareofEastown Mon 07-Jun-21 09:47:28

Situation is a bit complicated. Bought house 4 years ago with ExP (we were exes then, not together but were and still are good friends/co-parents) as it was the only way me (had been SAHM) and DC could get a not rented house (my deposit, his affordability). I pay mortgage, bills and all repairs. We have already figured out and agreed a figure that he would get in the event of the house being sold.

Fixed rate is ending. Ideally I would like to take mortgage over myself as I pay it anyway. I have been working for 4 years, the last year in a job with an ok-ish salary for me (£24k). There is about £90k left on mortgage.

Do I just ring current mortgage provider and ask if this is possible? If they say no do we just have to continue as we are until such a point that I am earning enough/have been earning enough for long enough to be able to take it over? I don't think it will be possible tbh.

Or do I ring London and Country (who we got our original mortgage through) and see if they can find anyone who will give me a mortgage? I would need a lender who takes into account benefits and/or maintenance as I get a UC top-up to my wage and maintenance from Ex. I'm aware these lenders are very few and far between but L&C did tell me there were a few who did this.

If I'm honest with them about Ex not being involved/contributing anymore even though mortgage was attained on his affordability, can I be penalised?

This might sound really stupid but I've never done this kind of thing before (Ex did all the admin for original mortgage).

Help!

OP’s posts: |
LordEmsworth Mon 07-Jun-21 09:54:03