Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

What Employer doesnt have to give out P60s?

(10 Posts)
charliecat Fri 07-Sep-07 16:12:06

I have been offered a job at a nursery. Owner says she doesnt do p60s, instead she fills out a p30 something?
I think this is to do with This is my own only job form, however, I am self employed, and I dont think it would apply to me....and surely ALL employers have to fill in a p60 even if they are earning not enough to pay tax?

flowerybeanbag Fri 07-Sep-07 16:17:46

charlie cat this might help you.
As far as I'm aware an employer must give you a P60.
But are you self-employed or employed...? Or are you self-employed at the moment but will presumably be employed when you start the job you have been offered?

I'm not a tax expert, someone else might have more info, but as I say, as far as I am aware, an employer must give you a P60.

Sam100 Fri 07-Sep-07 16:57:51

Sounds like this woman does not know her arse from her elbow.

The "only job form" is called a P46 - you should fill one of these in unless you have a P45 to give her because otherwise you may end up having emergency tax deducted and not getting the full benefit of your tax code. But only if you are an employee.

If you are working for this woman in a job in a nursery you are very unlikely to be self-employed, unless you have your own business set up and are contracting to do services for her. In which case the whole P60 thing is irrelevant as you will be filing your own tax returns with the taxman.