Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Housing worries later in life

(39 Posts)
Gohackyourself Thu 21-Jun-18 09:13:09

Just wanted to ask if anyone feels worried about the/their housing situation in the future.
I’ve been renting for past ten years- I used to own a home but divorce etc had to give that up.
Moved on met a new DP, but both of carry debt from previous marriages/divorce.nothing that isn’t sorted in a year or two but that will make me 45.
At that point, I’m put off of buying a property, the cost in my area for what I need is likely to be 350k, saddling myself with a 25 year mortgage :-(
But I’m aware that later in life if I had a house, paid up, my pension will see me through comfortably, whereas with renting, I still need to pay that cost.
But I get worried that what if I get to 60 plus an can’t work to finish that mortgage off?! Or I have paid it off but it gets taken by the state to pay for care home costs an I have nothing to pass on to my children.
There’s so much do I/don’t I around property buying later in life- especially after 1 failed marriage an a 2nd partner cheating- I don’t feel confident to do it on own an it needs two wages .... argh anyone else stuck as to what will be for the best- will they afford it etc

19lottie82 Thu 21-Jun-18 10:21:42

the cost in my area for what I need is likely to be 350k, saddling myself with a 25 year mortgage :-(

Move somewhere cheaper?

HerBigChance Thu 21-Jun-18 10:53:12

I worry about this as am renting in my 40s in London and will be moving somewhere cheaper and hopefully getting a mortgage (aiming for lower number of years though). Even if the mortgage plan doesn't work out, I think this will still be a better financial plan for me longer-term.

Gohackyourself Thu 21-Jun-18 12:18:40