Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Someone please explain credit to me

(35 Posts)
probablynapping Tue 13-Mar-18 19:02:36

Ok so I'm a student and not great with money (although not terrible). Ive run out of money for this term and need something to tide me over (living costs) until the next lot of student finance (under 1 month).
I've applied for, and been approved for a student credit card. Just waiting for the terms and conditions to come through but I have a few questions on how it works so if someone clever doesn't mind helping me out I'd really appreciate it!
Will I be able to transfer funds to my current account from my credit card? Or another account?
Will I be able to use it like a normal debit card?
Are there some shops which don't accept credit?
Does all of this depend on the specific credit card terms and conditions?

I'm a bit scared of credit to be honest so I'm only going to use it when I really need to and ignore it the rest of the time. I know I'll be able to pay back the credit within the interest free period so not too worried about that. I'm most concerned about trying to use it and being declined! TIA

Sophiesdog11 Tue 13-Mar-18 19:39:32

Will I be able to transfer funds to my current account from my credit card?

This isn't how a credit card works, there are no funds on it. Each time you use it in a shop or such, the debt gets added onto the card, and you have to then pay it off.

There may be a facility for withdrawing cash from it, but this isn't advisable, as the interest rate for cash withdrawals on a CC are sky high and will be payable from the minute you withdraw cash (even one with an interest free period).

Very few shops dont accept credit cards.

I'm most concerned about trying to use it and being declined!