Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Maintenance/Mortgage

(10 Posts)
chloe1308 Tue 06-Feb-18 19:43:00

Hi I’m new to this to please bear with.
I’m a part time working mum of 2. My children’s father left the family home just over 2 months ago. We own our home and have a relatively high mortgage (he works in IT and is doing well).
Whilst we were together I was unable to claim child benefit due to his salary.
Now he has gone he has paid the mortgage for the last 3 payments but all other bills I am now fully responsible for and paying. He has not paid one penny maintenance towards the children. He is under the impression because he has been paying mortgage he does not need to pay for maintenance.
I have made an application for child tax credits but this is a long slow painful process. I am able to claim child benefit which has been sorted.
So my question is, if he pays the mortgage is he right not to contribute towards the children?
He has informed me as of the 1st March he will no longer be paying the mortgage so will in fact start paying maintenance as of then.
Any advice or clarity on this is gratefully received.

Many thanks

Babyroobs Tue 06-Feb-18 19:50:26

Child tax credit shouldn't take too long to sort. You need to see a solicitor to get some advice. Do you work ? How old are your children- you may be able to claim Income support or job seekers allowance alongside the tax credits depending on their age.

Babyroobs Tue 06-Feb-18 19:51:02

Sorry just seen that you work part time. if you work over 16 hours on a low income then you should get working tax credits and child tax credits .

chloe1308 Wed 07-Feb-18 06:47:49