Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Can I afford to become a student?

(11 Posts)
Longwalkoffashortpier Tue 05-Dec-17 14:31:41

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Longwalkoffashortpier Wed 06-Dec-17 06:34:40

WaitingForEgg Wed 06-Dec-17 06:41:24

I’d imagine the year access course will be the most tricky financially then the degeee should be ok. I’m a student with a 2 year old. Lone parents get a large portion of childcare paid for, plus maintenance, parental grant etc. There is a student finance calculator you can do online

emochild Wed 06-Dec-17 06:51:02

I've just finished a degree -lone parent, 2 children and I receive DLA for one of them

Income while I was studying was tax credits, DLA, family allowance which was around £1200 every 4 weeks

My student loan/grant was £3,200 at the start of each term -I paid this into a separate account and released funds each month so it balanced across the year -some don't and then find April-September a long time to make the loan stretch

I have no childcare costs as my children are older and family help out if needed
I pay a mortgage so got no housing benefit but I think as a single parent you are entitled to claim as a mature student

I don't know if you would get the same level of support for an access course but the degree is doable

Runninglateeveryday Wed 06-Dec-17 07:01:01

It is possible, i have 1 child and had about 11000 a year from student finance and child tax credit it was tough but managed it. The NHS bursary has now gone. Do you privately rent ? Some areas provide housing benefit to students but some don't. For me the cost of travel was the worst as i am not close to the university.

Longwalkoffashortpier Wed 06-Dec-17 08:01:19

isthistoonosy Wed 06-Dec-17 11:14:38