Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

M&S food - is it expensive?

(41 Posts)
sassypants101 Tue 14-Nov-17 13:18:15

Is M&S food as expensive as I think it is? I went in the other night to grab something for dinner that night (I'm not very good at preplanning meals as I often work late). And I was surprised that I could get good food, for not too expensive.
Does anyone shop their regularly?
Are there good deals to be had?
Or am better to look elsewhere? Where?

Aridane Tue 14-Nov-17 13:21:54

TBH, I would like elsewhere

Aridane Tue 14-Nov-17 13:22:46

I mean, I would look elsewhere. Though good for the occasional grab & go. Or selective buying - but not for a staple weekly shop

CryingShame Tue 14-Nov-17 13:26:46

My husband's aunt does, but that's more to do with a ongoing perceived view of quality that M&S had decades ago.

For me, they're no better than the better food ranges in other supermarkets and it's often more difficult to park nearby. Why not use Sainsbury's or Waitrose for a broadly similar experience?

BexleyRae Tue 14-Nov-17 13:29:53

We've got a marks near us with a good sized food hall. I often have a look round, I couldn't justify a big shop there, but they have some nice different bits that I get to go along with my Aldi and farm foods big shop.

Cakescakescakes Tue 14-Nov-17 13:36:27

I think it depends what you buy. For example their 97% pork sausages are always on 2 packs for £5. So 6 chunky or 12 skinny sausages per pack. That is comparable or cheaper than the equivalent Tesco Fineat or butcher style etc but they are superb quality and flavour.