Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

How much each week do you spend on food shopping per person?

(65 Posts)
AlyTab Tue 07-Nov-17 12:42:00

Hi there, sorry if this is in the wrong place, but I'm just wondering since my friend says that between her and her boyfriend, they can spend about £300 a month on food. This made me wonder if I actually pick up enough food. Me and my bf have only been going out for a few months, so he buys his own stuff when he comes over and we don't live together just yet.

I'm new to the whole living by myself thing, its my first flat, so sorry for sounding thick, but I spent £12.65 on shopping this week, so just over £50 a month on food and TP. Is this too much, too little, or average? How much do you spend per person on shopping.

BarryTheKestrel Tue 07-Nov-17 12:45:15

It entirely depends what you are buying surely? For fruit, veg, dairy, meat, cupboard stuff etc I'd say £12.65 is a little low. But it depends what you are eating, if you are cooking from scratch, if you buy in bulk and then top up etc.

For Me, DH and DD(2), I spend around £40 a week and do pretty much everything from scratch.

AlyTab Tue 07-Nov-17 12:50:34

Mostly i buy pasta, soups, beans, spaghetti hoops, bread, milk, cheese, PB st. Simple things like that. I also bought a 12 pack of crisps (monster munch). Which cost £2, so without them for my essential meals and such, it would be about a tenner, and some of the spreads will last me about a month.

I don't buy meat since I'm a vegetarian. I don't really eat eggs either. My diet probably isn't the healthiest to be honest...

allisbright Tue 07-Nov-17 12:51:48