Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Can I register a self employed landlord?

(16 Posts)
ForeverBubblegum Mon 09-Oct-17 22:33:49

I’m planning on retraining in the near future so trying to work out finances as things will be a bit tight for a year whilst I’m studying. We are lucky enough to own a flat which we rent out and the income I get from this will be my main source of income whilst studying. I’ve previously declared this income on tax return for ‘not self employed’ but once I leave my current job could I claim that I’m running a property business?

Obviously I don’t do enough hours to qualify for WTC but as far as I can see there’s no hours requirement for tax free child care, you just need to earn an average of £120 a week which I would between the rental income and a few hour work I can fit around training. I could also then try to make a voluntary national insurance contribution so that I’m coved for benefit entitlement if I don’t find work at the end of training or need to take maternity etc.

Seems a bit cheeky now it’s written down as affectively I’d be given money on the basis that I have money coming in whereas if I didn’t I’d get nothing, but as the same time if I can save 20% of childcare bill that would make a massive difference.

Any financial whizzes out there know if this is possible?

OutToGetYou Mon 09-Oct-17 22:37:49

Phone HMRC and ask them, it's their rules, they'll be able to tell you.

ForeverBubblegum Mon 09-Oct-17 22:44:44

Yes that probably is a sensible move, I just thought of it so was hoping to rule it out if it was completely ludicrous before spending hours on hold

Rockchick1984 Tue 10-Oct-17 07:36:21

Depending on what you are studying you will be eligible for help with childcare costs via college / student finance.

Kazzyhoward Tue 10-Oct-17 08:33:14