Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

How much did you save?

(11 Posts)
Lenny1987 Sun 08-Oct-17 19:31:17

Hi all

I'm new to mumsnet, having just started ttc for the first time. I was just wondering how much everybody saved in preparation for maternity leave and having their first child. I want to make sure we have enough money for all the necessities a small child needs and to keep us going for around 9 months of maternity with only one salary. Also, did you find your monthly outgoings increased dramatically once you had a child, or just a change on what you spend on?

BackforGood Sun 08-Oct-17 22:48:58

I think that will depend on what your budget is normally.
If you are taking leave from work and your partner is still earning, is there enough money coming in, to cover your basic needs is the main question. If you are down to your last penny with both your incomes normally, then your saving will need to be greater as you partner will not be able to take up the loss of your salary.
What seems to me to be a good idea is to try to save the equivalent of your salary from now on - if you can manage, then you know you will be ok and you will also have a nice pot of savings put by. If you can only save 1/2 your salary, then that will give you an idea of how you might manage.
IME your spending goes down once you have your baby, as you are too knackered and it's too complicated to go out (arranging sitters, sorting feeding) as you can do when you are child free. you don't have expenses associated with work such as commute or even the little bits that add up - maybe buying lunches or coffees out.