Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Erudio student loans - demand for repayment

(5 Posts)
Becca19962014 Thu 25-May-17 21:41:19

I was a student in the early 90s. I've never earnt enough to pay back my loan. The government decided to take it from student loans company And sell it to Erudio. I'm currently struggling with benefits due to a screwup by the dwp (that's a whole different thread).

Daily for over a week end of march I had letters demanding I registered on their online portal to apply for deferment - this isn't possible for me due to lack of access to suitable IT equipment (I'm using old tech for MN which is on its last legs and can't use their portal to apply) and have no access to a library or similar due to closure and access issues in the one which is still open.

Start of April I had a letter stating I was due to repay my loan. After much struggling I managed to ring them (using a telephone is very difficult for me due to disability) and was told clearly I'd be sent a deferment application pack. Never turned up. However, more you must use our online portal TODAY letters did. I rang again, this time I was told to wait at least fourteen days before ringing again as the form, advisory notes and envelope were in the post and I was harassing them. Waited. Rang again. During this time I'd had more letters about the portal - seriously I have over thirty of these letters, that time I was accused of harassment again and told they would be taking action if I rang them again.

Finally I sent a formal complaint (I probably should have before but had been sorting other more vital money issues out).