Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Getting housing benefit whilst renting out a property

(13 Posts)
HealthyMind Wed 24-May-17 20:53:46

This may sounds like a silly question, but I’m totally new to this and haven’t a clue.

I have a mortgage on a property. I have rented out the property to a family. I was living at a different address with a partner until December 2016, but then we broke up. Subsequently, I got diagnosed with depression in February 2017. Then to top it off, I lost my job in April. I’m now on Employment and Support Allowance, as I get a sick note from my GP because of my depression, and I get £73 per week.

I’ve been living back at my moms permanently for the last few months. My mom is a carer for someone, and gets Care Allowance of £62 a week and Income Support of £45 a week. My mom rents the house from a private landlord. The rent is £125 a week.

I can't move back to m property as they have a tenancy agreement until the of the year. The rent I get from the tenants just about covers the mortgage as it's a variable mortgage.

What I want to know is, can we get help to pay the rent, and get help with council tax, as I’m on Employment and Support Allowance, and my mom is on Income Support due to low income and gets Care Allowance. Normally I think you would, but since I have a mortgage on another property, would this still be allowed, or as it’s another property, I would be entitled to help where I’m living now?