Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Scary letter from hmrc regarding tax credits

(25 Posts)
Ballerina123 Sun 12-Feb-17 07:36:20

Hi there all I'm new to this.. Just need some advice and if anybody else has been in this situation. I'll try not to go on too long.
Basically I married back in 2005 after being with my ex for 15 years. I have 3 children by this man. Anyway after him committing adultury many times I reverted back to my maiden name within a year. I stayed with him because of the children. Anyway in 2011 I couldn't take any more and in 2012 we seperated. In July 2012 I claimed working tax credits under my maiden name. Everyone knows me under my maiden name as don't use my married name. Anyway I received a letter from hmrc 2 weeks ago as they have links that a man is living with me. The letter is asking for bills etc which is absolutely fine as I pay all the bills which come direct debit out of my bank account. The only bill my ex pays is the mortgage which the house is on joint names. My ex still has post coming to my address. I have asked him to change all his mail but don't think he will cooperate as has no fixed address. I am soo worried about this as been reading lots of horrible stories with others getting these letters as I have nothing to prove where my ex is living. I have now got all my bills.. Bank statements and council tax which they have requested. Oh I did take ex off the electoral register in 2012.. Anybody else had this letter..

innkeeper Sun 12-Feb-17 07:58:56

Does he ever stay over?

Ballerina123 Sun 12-Feb-17 08:06:36