Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Would you ask for a pay rise in this situation?

(7 Posts)
employmentmatters Wed 08-Feb-17 11:05:02

I am currently 6 months pregnant.
I go on maternity leave April.

I work in the construction industry (office based) and am contracted to 45 hours a week.

There is only one of me who does my job in the company and and have bought up a few times that more than just me is needed for the role however, business is currently good and order book is healthy (nearly full for the year).
I often end up doing overtime to meet deadlines. Overtime is not paid.
Overtime can add another 2-5 hours per week.

I don't feel my renumeration is the fair going rate.
My salary is £36k per year.
This works out at £15.40 per hour based on a 45 typical week.
Average salaries for my position is typically anywhere between £35 for basic position to £50k for senior position.
Typically these positions are advertised at 40 hour working weeks meaning my equivilent yearly salary using my hourly rate is £32k per year.

Working out what I feel I am worth would put my hourly rate up to £17,80 per hour which would be a salary of £36k per year on a 40 hour basis or £41k per year on my hours of 45 a week.
However this seems like a lot to ask, and I'm going on maternity leave soon.

Would you ask in my position?

JoJoSM2 Fri 10-Feb-17 17:23:55

By the sound of it, you are underpaid. I think now is the time to ask. You will be less likely to do so when you come back from maternity leave as you might feel a bit out of it...

And remember, you're not asking for much - just for the going rate...

Millybingbong Fri 10-Feb-17 20:13:09

I think you have a strong rationale to ask for a salary review.