Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Moving to london- Would I get housing benefit?

(9 Posts)
Manet Sun 29-Jan-17 13:48:16

Hello everyone,

I have a question regarding housing benefit- I'll try to be as succinct as possible!

I'm a single mother with a toddler living in rural Scotland- I moved when I was pregnant to be closer to family because I had been in london previously and couldn't have supported myself there (I had just quit my job with the intention to travel- baby was a surprise). I'm currently on housing benefit. However, I've not been asked to leave my house, and tbh I'm miserable here. I have no friends or real support from my family since my mother is ill and I can't find work I want to do (my background is in the arts). I think I'm suffering from PPD (I finally have a docs appointment next week) and being here really just makes me feel so much worse.

I don't have a job lined up but I'd want to get back into work at least part time initially.

I would love to move back to london and have found another single mum who owns a property and would let me lodge with her, in a borough I've never lived.

Do you think I would be granted housing benefit? Does anyone have any relevant experiences that might give me a clue?

The other thing is, my son's father lives in Sweden and has said he would visit more if I was in london. He has a good friend he could stay with for free in another borough. So I would be getting some more support from him, and from my wider support network of friends. Would I be more likely to get it if he moved to london to or would it only make a difference if it was the same borough?

Sorry, I know this probably impossible to answer, I'm just looking for clues as to whether it's a lost cause or I might have some chance. Thank u for reading, if u got this far!!