Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

I've been overpaying my tax for at least 7 years...

(7 Posts)
NorksBride Fri 23-Feb-07 03:23:35

I finally sat down to do my self-assessment tax tonight (yes, I know it should have been in last month but I'm busy). Anyway, I actually looked something up in the guidebook and realised that I've been doing them wrong since at least 00/01.

I've corrected the whole lot (hence the time) and the Inland Revenue owe me more than £6000.

Am I happy?

OH YES I AM! HAHAHAHHHAHAHAAHHAHAHAHAH. YIPPPPPPEEEEEEEE.

Sorry about all that, but I'm feeling very exhuberant!

janinlondon Fri 23-Feb-07 10:16:30

Come on then...share! Where did you go wrong? (Hopeful that I've made the same mistake......)

dassie Fri 23-Feb-07 10:24:19

There is a time limit as to how far back you can go to change submitted tax returns but I can't quite remember how long it is.

Hope not to burst your bubble but may be worth checking how many of the returns you can still amend.

NorksBride Fri 23-Feb-07 14:09:02

The IR allow 6 years worth of returns to be amended and that's how many I've done. They sometimes allow more years but judge it individually.

I've been starting my self-assessment workings-out with my gross salary figure instead of the net figure. Duh. So I've been paying tax on my tax. I can't believe I was so dumb but according to the IR person I spoke to this morning, it's surprisingly common - nice of them to notify everyone!

Mumpbump Fri 23-Feb-07 14:10:32

There is a six year time limit which applies generally to contactual claims, but not sure whether tax might be an odd exception since I think the IR can pursue claims for tax more than 6 years back. It would be pretty unjust if you couldn't do the same...

dassie Fri 23-Feb-07 14:25:09