Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Why is car insurance so blooming expensive?!?

(25 Posts)
katelewis320 Sun 13-Nov-16 20:22:40

Hello,
I hope this is the right place to post this!
I am 32, 7 months pregnant and have just passed my driving test! I was thrilled until I've looked into getting quotes for car insurance on a Fiat Panda 1.2l car and found my cheapest quote to be £1300!!!
I don't pretend to know a lot about motor insurance and yes I know I'm a new driver but that seems ridiculous. Especially when the car is worth £1000 at most!
I just can't get my head around what could be driving the premiums up by this much. I would be paying annually so it's not as if my credit score has any bearing as this is just for monthly instalments.
Is anyone else paying similar and should I just shut up moaning and pay up or am I missing something!?

cozietoesie Sun 13-Nov-16 20:27:07

You're paying for potential damage to other cars and occupants not just your own. And I guess you have no No Claims Bonus? That has a serious effect on premiums when it kicks in.

SoupDragon Sun 13-Nov-16 20:28:40

I just can't get my head around what could be driving the premiums up by this much

Um... you said it yourself. You've just passed your driving test.

SoupDragon Sun 13-Nov-16 20:29:54

It is as simple as that. You are less experienced and thus more likely to cause an accident.

Kidnapped Sun 13-Nov-16 20:31:08

It is simply because you are a new driver. New drivers are a risk and the premiums reflect that.

Do you have a partner/husband? Could be worth adding him/her as a named driver. That often brings the prices down if the named driver has a decent driving history. You could add one of your parents or a friend if you don't have a partner. They don't have to live with you.