Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Inheritance help

(9 Posts)
Pompombears Sat 15-Oct-16 15:37:47

I am due to receive a small inheritance from my late aunts estate.
I am currently nc with my parents who are excutors, I received a text message yesterday from them stating they are in possession of my cheque from the solicitors and I need to go to their house to collect the cheque and sign for it.
Can they do this?

JoJoSM2 Sat 15-Oct-16 20:45:37

If you're not happy about that then contact the solicitors and get them to sort it out. I'm not a legal expert but common sense would dictate that they shouldn't have involved 3rd party with your check.

Longdistance Sat 15-Oct-16 20:54:46

Get the solicitor to cancel that cheque and re issue you with a new one.

Good luck op.

Pompombears Sat 15-Oct-16 22:43:05

Thank you for the replies 💐
Would I need to attend the solicitors to sign for the cheque or could it be done via post? I have never received any inheritance before and Google is no help

ImperialBlether Sat 15-Oct-16 22:45:08

Ask your solicitor - they can't demand you go there in person. Stand up to them - they're trying to manipulate you over this.

OhMrDarcy Sat 15-Oct-16 22:48:21

The last lots of money I've received in these circumstances have been transferred directly into my bank account or a cheque sent to my house. I've signed a receipt and posted it back to them. I've never physically collected a cheque from a solicitor.

snowman1 Sat 15-Oct-16 23:02:06

If your parents are exors, then they are responsible for the distribution of the estate. They may be trying to save money by not making a solicitors appointment for you, they can definately ask you to come and collect it it's their legal responsibility to pay out!!