Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Fucking hell

(23 Posts)
Heyheyheygoodbye Tue 06-Sep-16 20:03:42

DH is being made redundant. We have literally JUST bought a house. Didn't mortgage ourselves to the hilt but did mortgage ourselves based on his earnings IYSWIM.

The package is good - a year's salary - but he's worked for this company for years. Since he was first a graduate. In the meeting they had the audacity to thank him to developing strategies for the business which mean they can now follow their company goals i.e. downsizing and getting rid of people including him. He's worried this will count against him and he won't get a job with another company. He's 33.

What is the best way to approach the money? DH plans to have a new job as soon as possible but in this climate who knows how long it will actually take? I'm a PhD student (funded, thank God) and part-time admin so don't earn anything like he does. Should we put away X months of bills? Any advice?

FeckTheMagicDragon Tue 06-Sep-16 20:18:29

Getting made redundant in these times is NOT a black mark against you - especially when a company is downsizing. It happens to the best of people. Its the role they think is no longer required. Not the person. Hiring managers know this. He may be asked why he left his last role and he can just say he was so successful at rationalising strategies, he rationalized himself out of a job. And Smile. But that it was time for new challenges anyway - so it's all good.

Does he have a record of progression at that company? If so - make sure that's clear in his CV. His length of time will indicate that hes loyal - and doesn;t flit from one company to another - a very valuable trait.