Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Child tax credits and working tax credits- totally just shot myself in the foot

(14 Posts)
fantasyworld Wed 27-Jan-16 10:37:37

I separated from my husband in April 2015, but due to various life messiness I had not informed the tax office up until now. I have been working as self-employed since May 2015, but prior to that I had a government job. I've just come off the phone with HMRC who informed me that now that they know we are separated, they have interrupted the joint claim, and will likely send me a letter re overpayments since April 2015. I can reapply as a single claimant, however I have just calculated how much I would be entitled to on their website and it seems a lot less than with the joint claim! How can that be now that I'm a single parent? They're only taking into account my earrings between April 2014 and April 2015, but what about my situation now, which is very different? Also, the sum calculated through the HMRC website: is it monthly or yearly?

Thanks in advance

fantasyworld Wed 27-Jan-16 10:38:21

*earnings, not earrings

Cirsium Wed 27-Jan-16 10:43:49

We had a similar issue when applying with DD as our award was based on my previous years self employment when I had been working full-time and then some. Not helpful when you are then on Statutory Maternity Allowance for several months. If your current earnings and situation is hugely different you can let them know on the phone and they may adjust your payments accordingly.

aprilanne Wed 27-Jan-16 10:44:32

probably because you left it nearly a year to tell them .and its less because there is only one adult in the household so less expense and they will calculate things like child maintenance .they will take it back monthly of your new claim .

fantasyworld Wed 27-Jan-16 10:50:34