Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

What do I do?

(15 Posts)
KB2651 Fri 27-Nov-15 18:08:47

This might be long, so thank you if you manage to get to the end of it.

Up until the end of last month I worked in retail on an 8hr contract. I handed my notice in on the 3rd October giving 1 months notice (I was only required to give 2 weeks notice, don't know if it's relevant). This made my last day that I was available to work the 31st, however due to rotas etc my last day was actually the 29th October, and I did my full 8hrs on that day.

Today I received a letter from the company payroll saying as that my last day with the company was the 29th, I owe them £14.98 for the 30th-31st October.

The letter also informed me that I had taken more holiday than I am entitled to at the time of my leaving, meaning that I also owe them £50 something for that too.

There's a contact number at the bottom, and I've tried calling it but obviously no one is there at this time of night, but I'm so stressed right now - I don't need to be finding £70ish a month before Christmas! I'm a full time student and have a 0hr contract with a Nursery, however I don't get regular hours, it's just as and when.

I'm going to call them on Monday and ask for a breakdown but I don't know what to ask? Can anyone help?

RandomMess Fri 27-Nov-15 18:14:26

I'm wondering if the issue is that you get paid per calendar month (not every 4 weeks)

Go gave 4 weeks notice, not a calendar month otherwise you'd have worked until 2nd November which is Wed.

I'm assuming they would work out your monthly hours for pay calculation as

52 weeks x 8 hours / by 12 months.

Same for hour holiday calculation?

atticusclaw2 Fri 27-Nov-15 18:18:17

An employer is not obliged to accept when you give greater than contractual notice.