Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

I want to work self employed part time, how do working tax credits and tax work?

(55 Posts)
HowD Tue 14-Jul-15 13:19:48

I am a clueless novice.

Help!

TalkinPeace Tue 14-Jul-15 14:18:29

They barely do.
And even less so from next April.
You'll need to prove you are making more than the NMW net profit for more than 24 hours a week and the rest to get them.

Aim to live on your income and then tax credits may help, they may not.

lougle Tue 14-Jul-15 14:37:31

As TalkinPeace says, your business will undergo a profitability test. From April 2016 the test would be net profit of £7.20×24 per week (£172.80) or x16 (£115.20) if a lone parent.

If you don't earn that much after 1 year, they won't class you as SE.

Mrdarcyswife Tue 14-Jul-15 18:09:08

I was about to come along and ask this question too. I'm sorry, I must be really clueless, but I don't understand the profitability test.
I'm going to be starting up in September, and it will take until Xmas at the earliest before I am making over £100 (lone parent). Do I have to wait till then to claim?

Where can I find more info on this?

lougle Tue 14-Jul-15 20:19:51

You need to register straightway because they won't backdate past 1 month. But you'll need to give an estimate income for the year.

TalkinPeace Tue 14-Jul-15 22:15:49

You can no longer get tax credits to top up "hobby businesses"
you are either making a decent living - in which case tax credits may top it up
or its a hobby, and you need to get a real job.

HowD Tue 14-Jul-15 23:53:46

I am not starting a hobby business confused and you don't know what my circumstances are. I feel "you need to get a real job" isn't the most helpful post. Thank you for your concern anyway.

ChesterCake Tue 14-Jul-15 23:56:43