Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Child Maintenance

(11 Posts)
taffy2013 Sun 05-Jul-15 16:57:47

Hi everyone
New to this so I'm sorry if I've posted in the wrong place, My Husbands Daughter has come to live with us and we have applied for child maintenance and the mother hasn't replied and they have called her and she wont pick up with held numbers does anyone know what happens next please, the mother is working but I cant seem to find the next step online Many Thanks

HarrietSchulenberg Sun 05-Jul-15 17:40:48

I'm no expert but I would have thought you'd apply to the CSA and get them to sort it out, the same as is supposed to happen with absent fathers.

TheyGotTheMustardOut Sun 05-Jul-15 17:48:49

The Child Maintenance Service will try to contact her a certain amount of times, if they receive no reply they will calculate maintenance based on the latest information they can get HRMC and set out a payment schedule.

Your husband will also get the letter with the amount and dates the payments should be made. If she doesn't make the first payment (you need to wait 5 business days after the first payment is due) you can try move to collect and pay service,

I suggest he follow up very carefully by calling the CMS whenever a deadline is due or past. I applied in February and I am still awaiting any payment; the final step being getting the maintenance deducted directly from my ex-husband's pay.

taffy2013 Sun 05-Jul-15 17:57:29

Thank You for that, do you no how long they try to contact her for? before moving to the next step, we know they wont get a reply as she just stick's her head in the sand and hopes it goes away.

TheyGotTheMustardOut Sun 05-Jul-15 18:34:12

My ex was like that too! He still is even as they are going to garnish his wages, it's so stupid.