Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Income Support Advice?

(25 Posts)
BabyGrainger Wed 17-Jun-15 17:15:29

Hi Everyone
I'm very new to this benefits business, so a little help will be great!
Background: I'm 28 and my husband is 32, we are pregnant and due on Jul 22nd. My husband is a building contractor and has just finished his latest contract but doesn't have another one to go to, and doesn't know when he will next have work. I called DWP to claim income support for the both of us on Monday (15th Jun) and had the interview at the Jobcentre the following day. Today is the 17th and to my surprise, everything seems to have gone through quickly and I received a text message from the DWP saying:

"We confirm you will now get Income Support. We'll send you a letter about this. Your payment of £82.04 will be paid to your account on 22.06.2015"

Now, I don't meant to sound ungrateful in the slightest, we have been trying to get by on my husbands low income for a while now and getting the benefit will mean a lot less money troubles for a while, with now being entitled to a Maternity Grant and Healthy Start Vouchers, but I'm a little, nay, a fair bit concerned about the amount..
Having done some research prior to putting in the IS claim, I can see that we should be entitled to £114.85 per week, due to us being a couple where we are both over 18.

My question is, those of you who already claim, or have previously claimed Income Support, do you know why the payment is what it is?
The only things that come to mind are:
1. They've somehow made an error and not taken my husband into account?
or
2. IS is usually paid on a specific day, and therefore we are not getting a full week's worth of money this time, but will in future payments.

Any help or advice you have to give will be greatly appreciated.
Thank you smile