Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

my ex wants his money back please help

(21 Posts)
ethlewjam Thu 27-Nov-14 21:20:51

Hi

I am a newbie here but desperate for advice. I am a single mum of 3 I have been since my separation to their dad now been 4 years.

I also have been sexually abused which is only added as it is relevant to this story.

This year I met a man who rushed me off my feet. He is slightly older and partially disabled. He received a payout some years before I met him. After a couple of months he said he lover me and never felt like this for anyone. He wanted to marry me. I told him I still had to get my divorce and then I told him of my abuse. I told him as I struggle with sex. None the less he said he wanted to stand by me no matter how long it took for me to get better and he wanted to pay for my divorce as a showing of that commitment.

I accepted but what was to follow has been awful. I struggled sexually and he said if he can't have sex there was no relationship. He was also aware that my youngest child was in hospital very ill and still he sent hate texts.

I am at breaking point I have 3 kids one very sick. He is threatening to take me to court despite the fact he gifted the money for my divorce so we could marry which he is now saying won't happen as there is no sex.

Can he really take me to court where there was only cash given an understanding it was a gift no requirement to pay it back. I haven't even called off the engagement he has. I feel I am drowning here and I have a very sick son in hospital please help

dontcallmehon22 Thu 27-Nov-14 21:23:32

Oh my goodness, you poor thing. I'm no expert but if there's nothing to prove it wasn't a gift, I don't see how you can be made to pay it back. He sounds awful. Thinking of you and your son flowers