Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Help with Tax Return - business travel

(4 Posts)
WhatWillSantaBring Wed 05-Nov-14 14:04:40

Hoping someone can help with one section on a tax return so that I don't break the law by giving duff information.

For the business travel expenses, I got reimbursed by my employer a mileage rate that was less than the approved mileage rate and reimbursed in full for all other accommodation etc costs.

Does that mean I can only include the difference in mileage rate as an allowable business expense?

Also, can I include the difference in mileage rates for previous years on this tax return? (I have been claiming mileage at less than the approved rate for 5 years, but this is the first year I've done a tax return).

I have another question about the Child Benefit charge too, but will keep persevering online to find the answer!

Thank you in advance

LittleBearPad Wed 05-Nov-14 14:09:06

Yes. You can't include expenses you've been reimbursed for

WhatWillSantaBring Thu 06-Nov-14 16:18:56

Thanks LittleBear - that makes sense!

Can I include previous years mileage claims (the difference anyway) or do I need to do that separately?

Chasingsquirrels Fri 07-Nov-14 09:19:25

You can claim tax relief on the difference between the HMRC approved mileage rate (13/14 : 45p a mile for the first 20,000 miles, then 25p per mile) and the rate you receive.

You can't claim for previous years on this year's return, but you could make a claim in respect of some of those years (not all as I think you would be out of time, but check with HMRC).

Details, and how to claim including if you don't do a tax return (ie previous years) www.gov.uk/tax-relief-for-employees/overview and subsequent pages.

What is your child benefit question?

Join the discussion