Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

15 hours free chilcare, does it affect benefits?

(24 Posts)
MoonshineWashingLine Tue 29-Apr-14 22:34:16

Can't seem to find a straight forward answer to this question!
We have recently become eligible for the government 15 free child care hours thing and all I want to know is does it affect housing benefit and does it affect tax credits?
No one seems to know for definite!
Thanks in advance smile

Meglet Tue 29-Apr-14 22:35:36

I'm pretty sure it doesn't.

wooldonor Tue 29-Apr-14 22:37:31

Is your child 3? I'm not an expert but I've never heard of it affecting any benefits. It's not means tested and you don't have to take it up, has someone suggested that it will affect benefits - you don't actually get any money, your local authority pays the child care provider for you

MoonshineWashingLine Tue 29-Apr-14 22:42:30

My dd is two. Its the new free two year old early education thing. My childminder sorts it all out but I was wondering if I have to tell the benefits office that my child care costs have gone down or not. If I do obviously my benefits would also go down so I'm wondering if its worth it of not.

Rockchick1984 Tue 29-Apr-14 22:44:33

Do you currently pay for childcare and claim tax credits towards it? If not, then no it doesn't affect any benefits. If you're claiming tax credits towards childcare costs then you will need to update your claim as your childcare costs will obviously come down.

Rockchick1984 Tue 29-Apr-14 22:45:32

X posts. So are you already working and claiming tax credits towards childcare costs?

MoonshineWashingLine Tue 29-Apr-14 22:48:26

The thing is it says in big letters on the leaflet "you benefits will not be affected by free childcare" so I'm guessing that means all benefits?!

MoonshineWashingLine Tue 29-Apr-14 22:51:08