Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Tax repayment? What is this?

(28 Posts)
Northernlurker Fri 09-Dec-11 17:21:42

Dh has a letter today which is headed tax calculation and says this letter shows a tax repayment due (for a year in which he was made redundant). It says a payabl order has been issued to you seperately. It says on the calculation 'repayment due' and that section is marked (helpfully NOT) this is either what you have to pay or what we owe you. So which is it? It doesn't say demand but it doesn't say rebate. I have a degree and I can't work this out - I know what I think it is from the calculation but Iwould like others opinions!
Thanks

minceorotherwise Fri 09-Dec-11 17:27:22

Sounds like a rebate. But not 100 percent sure

spicyorange Fri 09-Dec-11 17:29:24

If it says payable order has been issued the amount thats on the bottom of the tax form where it says repayable amount due or some thing along them lines, is what you will recieve in a cheque in a couple of days. I had one last week and cheque has just cleared just in time for xmas smile

ginmakesitallok Fri 09-Dec-11 17:29:30

Does the tax office use paypal??? You learn a new thing every day

ginmakesitallok Fri 09-Dec-11 17:30:05

blush payable not paypal....

Iggly Fri 09-Dec-11 17:30:55

Sounds dodgy.

Phone HMRC

spicyorange Fri 09-Dec-11 17:33:44

The tax office are going through every ones tax as a few years ago there was an error and you either over paid or under paid tax. Feel sorry for those who are going to end up with a bill.

mumblechum1 Fri 09-Dec-11 17:35:01

A payable order is Government speak for cheque.

BrokenBananaTantrum Fri 09-Dec-11 17:35:34

Does it have a little number 16 next to the amount?

ditavonteesed Fri 09-Dec-11 17:37:36