Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Driving different cars & insurance?

(11 Posts)
FessaEst Wed 03-Aug-11 20:29:34

Is there a way of being insured to drive on others' cars, even if you don't have a car yourself? Until recently I have had my own car, with comprehensive insurance that covered me to drive my parents' cars etc. However, we have gone down to one car, and I am only a named driver on my husband's policy. I was about to borrow my Mum's car today when I realised that I am not insured. I rang the insurance company and sopke to a really unhelpful girl who said I would have to get temporarily insured on each car I want to drive. Is there anyway of being insured to drive other cars at all times?

QueenOfFeckingEverything Wed 03-Aug-11 20:31:44

Can you not be a named driver on your mum's insurance? Though that doesn't help with any other cars you might want to borrow.

LawrieMarlow Wed 03-Aug-11 20:34:49

When you have your own car insurance, you are only insured third party on other people's cars. My mum used to have insurance where anyone else could drive her car (with comprehensive cover) I think although don't think she has that now. How many other cars do you generally drive? I only drive mine and H's.

CMOTdibbler Wed 03-Aug-11 20:53:57

You should never have been driving your mums car on the Driving Other Cars clause anyway - this is supposed to be only for emergencies

You need to be a named driver on your mums policy

QueenOfFeckingEverything Wed 03-Aug-11 21:05:09

Really CMOT?

Me and my friends are always borrowing each others cars - there's always someone whose car is broken. I thought if your insurance covered you to drive any other vehicle that was ok?

FessaEst Wed 03-Aug-11 21:12:48