Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Consolidation can someone advice please? sorry long.

(10 Posts)
Crawling Wed 09-Feb-11 13:22:54

Right I am young I was 17 having my first child and really struggled. I am now 23 with a mortgage on a 3 bedroom house and better off money wise but I am not very good at handeling money and so I am wasting a lot of my money partly because I am young and still learning . When we were struggeling we had no luxuries and when we started to have more money didn't watch as closely an enjoyed being free of money worries, this has now got me into trouble sad.

We have £600 overdraft
£2000 credit card
£1000 loan

I do better with something I can set a standard amount up to pay off so I was thinking of getting a loan and having one payment each month. Is this a good idea?

Secondly I am wasting money left right and centre after bills (not including, food, clothes, going out) we have a £1000 which is more than I used to have in total, but I keep wasting it and I am left with nothing at the end of the month.

Am I right that there is no way I need to squander this much does anyone have any tips on how to set a limit and stick to it? Also what is a resonable breakdown of spending for a family of 4 with no car, or bus or taxi costs. TIA to any answers.

Chil1234 Wed 09-Feb-11 13:49:39

Start from square one with a budget. Work out exactly what you have coming in each month and set that against your regular/necessary outgoings (bills, rent, insurance etc.) What you have left is your disposable income. Don't count your debt payments at this stage.