Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. Free legal advice is available from a Citizen's Advice Bureau, and the Law Society can supply a list of local solicitors.

Saving purchase confirmation emails - do you?

(9 Posts)
msbossy Fri 31-Dec-10 12:24:34

Since losing my luggage as a student I've become obsessive about saving the receipts for anything I'd want to make an insurance claim for. These days I make a lot of purchases online and try to do the same, but it's less easy.

I think it would be a good idea if retailers attached a copy of the receipt as a text or PDF file so you could save it rather than have hundreds (shoppaholic blush) of emails hanging around.

Do insurers still need receipts as proof of purchase? Do they expect you to have your email receipts from online purchases?

Chil1234 Fri 31-Dec-10 12:48:17

I made a file in my inbox called 'shopping confirmations' and drag/drop relevant mails into it. Then they're always available but don't clog up the rest of the place

hocuspontas Fri 31-Dec-10 12:53:49

I do the same - have a email folder called 'purchases' and put everything there. Once an item has been delivered though you usually get a receipt/invoice with it so you can save it in the normal way. (In a cluttered drawer with millions of other bits of paper grin)

shoshe Fri 31-Dec-10 13:01:51

I am a CM, so have to keep all receipts for the taxman, I save all into a receipts file, filed monthly in the file. makes it so easy come tax time.

msbossy Fri 31-Dec-10 14:32:01

Good to know I'm not the only one! It sounds like you all rely on your email client for filing. I use laptop, phone & work laptop so just use gmail lately rather than an email client with folders etc. I guess I'm going to have start saving the emails to my home laptop. What an exciting start to 2011 wink

RustyBear Fri 31-Dec-10 14:54:32