Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any legal concerns we suggest you consult a solicitor.

Consent from other parent to travel abroad

(7 Posts)
Mambot Wed 07-Feb-18 22:09:44

My son's father has sent a two sentence email to confirm his consent, is that enough? Or does it need to be a specifically worded and printed letter presented at some point at the airport? For context, It's two days in Europe with me and my mum, my son has a double barelled surname half mine half father's, he lives with me 100% of the time with no court orders in place.

Thank you.

endofthelinefinally Wed 07-Feb-18 22:20:53

It needs to be a signed lettter.
If your son's name is different from yours you will need birth certificate, marriage cert/ evidence of divorce.
I am not a lawyer but the above is based on my experience/ friends.

MissWimpyDimple Wed 07-Feb-18 22:24:03

I have travelled abroad with my daughter many many many times and have never needed consent. I cannot see that you would.

Take the birth certificate if you are in any doubt, but I have never been asked.

Mambot Wed 07-Feb-18 22:24:50

Ah thank you for that. I have my sons birth certificate. We were never married. So just to confirm: my passport and his obviously, his birth cert, and if I type up a letter and he signs it when he sees him this weekend, that'll be acceptable?

Thank you

PigletWasPoohsFriend Wed 07-Feb-18 22:26:04

I have travelled abroad with my daughter many many many times and have never needed consent. I cannot see that you would.

Whilst quite a few people on here will tell you they have been, as have we.

Mambot Wed 07-Feb-18 22:28:24